Mother of Tupac Shakur Dead at 69

Afeni Shakur-Davis, mother of slain rapper Tupac Shakur, died Monday night at age 69.

Davis was born in California and was a member of the “Panther 21” in the 1970’s.

Davis’ death was confirmed by the Marin County Sheriff, but a cause of death has not yet been confirmed. TheAtlanta Journal Constitution claimsthat deputies responded to a report of cardiac arrest on Monday night. Davis was taken to the hospital where she later died.

TMZ reports that Davis was going through a divorce at the time of her death.

Davis gave birth to Tupac in 1971 and the rapper became one of the most groundbreaking hip-hop artists in music history. Tupac was fatally shot while leaving a boxing match in 1996. He was 25.

After Tupac’s death, Davis dedicated her life to her son’s legacy.

Afeni Shakur-Davis opened the Tupac Amaru Shakur Foundation and the Tupac Amaru Shakur Center for the Arts in Stone Mountain, Ga.

Davis spoke about her mission in life during the 2003 release of “Tupac Resurrection.”

Davis told CBS News: “I’m not a filmmaker. I’m not a music producer by choice. Whatever it is I’m doing I do because my son was murdered, and he was not able to complete his work. So as his mother, my whole job and responsibility is to see to it that that happens for him, and I do that with love.”

She also told CBS that she was still distressed that her son’s killer had not been caught.

“Not a second. Not even a nanosecond have I concerned myself with who shot him or why they shot him, or what should happen to them. I don’t care what happens to them,” she said.. “I spend my time putting my sons work out, because guess what – they shot him, (but) did not shut him up trough.”

Source : Mother of Tupac Shakur Dead at 69

4 thoughts on “Mother of Tupac Shakur Dead at 69

Leave a Reply

